Archive

Archive for December 18, 2009

Party Like It’s 1989

December 18, 2009 1 comment

This dude walked in the store, asked for some Mike-n-Ikes and was humming “Walk This Way”….

I looked around, I thought I was bugging out. This was a real Twilight Zone moment, I thought I time-traveled to the 80s …or he was from the past. (Not to mention, I was high flying and juiced on the goose, so I really was unsure about what was happening.) I had to let the camera lens do the viewing. This guy sure had me cracking up though, that delayed laugh that hits three minutes later once the shock and awe wear off. What kind of looks he must get on the street. All I know is that now I’m thinking about me in the 80s, around four or five, loving the peanut butter and jelly that came in the same jar. (They still make that, by the way.) I used to get a kick out of making pb&j sandwiches, one of my first foyers in my chefery. This guy’s hair looks just like that peanut butter and jelly jar.

I heard about and saw the Retro Kids all over the city. They’re like the James St. James and Michael Alig, but using a better cultural/ musical/ fashion era.  And  like the original Club Kids, these guys (and girls, oviously) get into award shows, fashion shows and clubs just because. This guy here is not half as committed as some, it’s a damn spectacle (aka: it’s New York.)

I Can See Your Entire Ass In Those Jeans, Part 5: “Gone Global”

December 18, 2009 2 comments

I mentioned Aleppo, Syria in the first post of this series because one of my twitter/ blogger friends, Elaine Z., is from there and all the way on the other side of the world guys are doing the same damn thing and looking just as stupid.  It’s a fashion and societal act of defiance for rebels without a cause-or belts. This is what Elee writes:

I’m a 23 year old girl living in Syria Aleppo, and yes a good looking well dressed fashionable guy can really attract my eye and make me feel blessed to meet him…

But this I don’t understand, it happens here too and in a weird way… Why do guys have to do this, showing all people around him a huge part of his underwear… Those guys really wear jeans 2 sizes larger than theirs real size to make this happen, the pants goes down and Bam, you get blind when you see white boxer with red hearts on, or blue one with yellow bears on!  I saw that lots of times and I went like WTF? The answers came like, “maybe it’s comfy” or “maybe it’s the fashion!” Damn! If it’s comfortable, which I doubt believe, manage to wear a long shirt over it to cover! And/or who the hell told you that it’s fashionable?

All I can say that it sucks and none of the girls around me find it attractive! So please guys, stop doing it for the sake of our eyes!! You’re ruining the beauty of your style with this thing!  Who cares to know what the design is???

I thought Elee’s part about the boxers with red hearts and yellows bears is funny, living in New York, I’ve seen worst. And  yes, I mean worst, let’s just leave it at that.  I often thought to myself, as well, is it comfortable to wear you pants so low, I actually asked somebody before and this is what he said verbatim, “ahhhh, naaaahh, like…you know, it’s coool, you know?…” Read more…

NYC Song Of The Week: “El Tigeraso” – Maluca

December 18, 2009 2 comments

…Wait, lemme stop dancing first. Just give me a minute…

… … … … …

I could have put this song up for my international post or for hype song of the week, it’s just that good and I would describe it as hype music..but all roads lead back NYC. I have to give shoutouts to Buraka Som Sistema and Le Poisson Rouge for exposing me to this talent, my neighbor from uptown, @MALUCAMALA. I first heard her at a show at LPR, she opened for BSS and she was hot. A good live act.

182nd and Audubon, huh,  sounds more like 177th and Amsterdam, Highbridge Park in the Summer. Cookouts turn into dance parties, abuelo with the piragua cart and the coquito at the bottom. (That’s grandpa, snowcones and frozen coconut and rum drinks for all my unilingual readers out there.)

I can play this track over and over, it just resonates in my head and I just let it keep running. Then twenty minutes later I realize I’m playing a playlist with only one song in it. After one more listen, then I stop.

See more Maluca.  See more Buraka Post.

<<<Last Week’s Song<<<>>>Next Week>>>

Read more…