Party Like It’s 1989

December 18, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

This dude walked in the store, asked for some Mike-n-Ikes and was humming “Walk This Way”….

I looked around, I thought I was bugging out. This was a real Twilight Zone moment, I thought I time-traveled to the 80s …or he was from the past. (Not to mention, I was high flying and juiced on the goose, so I really was unsure about what was happening.) I had to let the camera lens do the viewing. This guy sure had me cracking up though, that delayed laugh that hits three minutes later once the shock and awe wear off. What kind of looks he must get on the street. All I know is that now I’m thinking about me in the 80s, around four or five, loving the peanut butter and jelly that came in the same jar. (They still make that, by the way.) I used to get a kick out of making pb&j sandwiches, one of my first foyers in my chefery. This guy’s hair looks just like that peanut butter and jelly jar.

I heard about and saw the Retro Kids all over the city. They’re like the James St. James and Michael Alig, but using a better cultural/ musical/ fashion era.  And  like the original Club Kids, these guys (and girls, oviously) get into award shows, fashion shows and clubs just because. This guy here is not half as committed as some, it’s a damn spectacle (aka: it’s New York.)

  1. December 20, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    WOW…..all I can say is wow!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

