Home > NYC, Politics, Random Advice & Life Lessons > But If I Called You A Terrorist, You’d Be Mad Right?

But If I Called You A Terrorist, You’d Be Mad Right?

I REALLY don’t appreciate being greeted with a, “Whaddup, my nigga,” from the scrawny little Arab dude at the corner store on Virginia and Hugh Grant Circle near my house. (Yes, I did give you the street, I would have GPS’d the coordinates if I had the capabilities to do so. I told him about that a couple times, but he doesn’t get it. I don’t know, No, I don’t know, I’m offended as a patron first, then as a black person. It’s like a scene from Spike Lee’s Do The Right Thing, better yet, it’s like the Wayans’ Don’t Be A Menace While Drinking Your Juice In The Hood. That’s some horrible customer service to greet someone by there race epithet. I live in a very diverse neighborhood, can you imagine if everyone were greeted by their. race’s derogatory term? I had a good mind to just walk out, but I already opened my drink.

It’s clear that ignorant cultural aspects of a people will seep onto the consciousness of the others around you like flies on shit. What was most disappointing was how normal and matter-of-fact it was for those words to come out of dude’s mouth and his subsequent confused face after I tried to school him a little. It really didn’t help that the next person to walk in the store said the same thing to him. I felt defeated…

  1. January 7, 2011 at 5:45 am

    You’re a better person than I am. I dont tolerate anyone calling me the “n” word and I would have been fit to be tied.

    As a person of color I too, have a problem with people using racial slurs to address one another. I find it completely ignorant and insulting to those who lost their lives fighting for respect and dignity.

  2. January 7, 2011 at 5:46 am

    In addition, I hope you will no longer patronize this “establishment”

  3. January 7, 2011 at 8:11 am

    LOL…Ken, I can really see you flipping your wig if you encountered something like this. I was more baffled than anything else, it was kind of surreal because the guy acted like that was just “the way.”
    No, I’m not boycotting the store though, I have to be relistic, ignorance is everywhere and that doesnt own the place, ya know

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

