Home > Daily Random, NYC > And You Have Every Right To Feel That Way

And You Have Every Right To Feel That Way

January 12, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

And you have every right to feel that way.

I love, hate and am awed by this expression, it’s just so funny. It’s like tacit agreement with something you totally don’t agree with. I first heard this from @MsKimothy when we’re riding the train home together one day:
“…Blackberries are the best phone ever.”
“…I don’t wanna eat at that restaurant, their food is nasty.”
“…I hate Beyonce, she ruined Lady Gaga’s Fame Monster for me.”

Kim’s response was always the same, “…and you have every right to feel that way…” I then proceed to give her a blankstare, :-l What am I supposed to say to that? “Umm, you’re right, Kim. Thank you for reminding me  about my free will and all…” The first time I heard her say that, I didn’t know if she was being condescending or sincere. In my usually sarcastic way, I’m sure I said something jackassish and snarky. I already know I have every right to feel every way I feel (sharing those feelings is where it can get a little dicey.)

That’s what’s said to completely absolve you of any and all responsibility, fault and judgment.  It’s also what friends say when they don’t want to get in to it. So now whenever someone stupid or something I don’t want debate, I just say, And you have every right to feel that way.

It does make me think of the concept on a larger level though, we’re all entitled to our own opinions, but when are we not?…

  1. January 12, 2010 at 4:07 am

    Great post. It actually makes sense to say that. It’s the “argument deader”.

    • January 12, 2010 at 10:17 am

      And you have ever right to feel that way. DEAD.
      (Nah, you’re right..lol)

    • January 12, 2010 at 10:22 am

      You and me are like —><— this, baby..lol
      I knew a couple people in college, that I never saw their scalps. Now how am I supposed to trust them when they're concealing themselves like that?

  2. January 3, 2011 at 1:28 am

    hahaha this is just way too funny!
    ima have to use this expression sometime…
    hmmm…

    i think this goes well with “and how do you feel ’bout that?” =)) lol

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

