Home > Daily Random > Twenty-Five And Counting…

Twenty-Five And Counting…

December 17, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I am such the cliche 20-something year old person when it comes to those major life events and milestones. I’m only just now realizing it though. I have a Bachelor’s degree in Architecture Technology and I’m only barely using it. I know what I want to do, but I don’t know what or who I wanna be. Now is when I’m starting to pressure myself to consider my future and my master plan- something I don’t have, by the way. It’s all moving too damn quick and I keep thinking I need more time, I’m not ready. I’m so ready. Am I ready? I’m 25 which means I’m almost 30, then I’ll be 40 in no time… I might as well sign up with AARP tomorrow.. Will I be a 40-something year old man looking back on my 20s wondering where I made that wrong turn, or cursing myself for letting some opportunity slip through my fingers. I won’t be able to answer that then, just like I can’t answer it now. And that’s how I get bummed out, thinking I seriously didn’t do enough with the first half of my life to be thinking about the second half already. It doesn’t really help that some of my high school/college classmates are married business owners with kids already. Now they had a master plan (with color-coded chapters, tabs and an operations manual…)   To all of them: f*ck you and congratulations, now I have to go Nike and just do it

Such as life, to be continued…

  1. Shanequa
    December 30, 2009 at 7:04 am

    Ok so I know a little too much of how this feels. It feels like the more I try to do the less I feel accomplished. I

  2. Shanequa
    December 30, 2009 at 7:13 am

    ….con’t from 1st 1. am tryin to do it all but it feel like not enough. I am in school and almost done but it never feels close enough or far enough for me to think. I’m still at home and I’m ready to move but my pockets won’t allow it. I want to work full-time but how can I when my school does not cater to NON- traditional students? I want to work in the day and school in the evening but I have to do the opposite. And to add to the bullshit I picked up a charge so I cant even look for another job so possibly I can work overnight. Cuz I had a second job but I guess smoking weed is a crime these days..LMAO! So hopefully my parents wont bail on me just yet cuz I have bills. Can I be one of those ppl that live off refund checks and income tax? I guess this semester we will find out. And to top it all off I failed my 1st piss test for probation so the charge will be dropped WTF. Some where I GOT LOST IN TRANSLATION!

  3. February 18, 2010 at 4:35 am

    I was in my email today and I ran across the pre-post email you sent me and Becca. Still looking for part2…. #IllWait 😛

    But to comment on the post. I feel stuck at this point myself, hard to explain with things moving foward in my life. Job (check), own crib (check) love life (err umm yea) education (adds back to list). Now I’m sitting here waiting on my birthday and I dont feel old, I’m not old but I’m not getting any younger, and like you said, I know where I want to be but how in the hell am I suppose to get there? “They told us when graduating high school “ya better go ahead and go to college, take a break now and you will never go”. 2006 I graduated with my Associated Degree and I told myself I would go back and get my Bachelors but hmmm yeah, 4yrs later and I haven’t done it. I know if I want to add more zeros to the end of my check I’m gonna have to go get that piece of paper but really, school again? UGH. I won’t even get into the love life thing, I’m sure there is some kinda limit to characters…Anywho, 24 here I come, too young for a mid-life crisis, right? *damn just yesterday I was 21, sigh*

    • February 22, 2010 at 9:19 am

      Awww. Quartelife crisis. You’ll get over it. :*

  4. February 18, 2010 at 4:37 am

    thinks to self: hmmm why didn’t I post that on my own blog? He’ll print….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

