Home > Foodie, Manhattan > Full Stomach, Shame And A Smile: $15 Lunch

Full Stomach, Shame And A Smile: $15 Lunch

December 7, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

No matter how you slice it, fifthteen dollars for a single meal is a a lot of dough…And I call myself a Recessionist. We all need those times to splurge and GO IN on something really good even if it’s outside the normal spending limit. Now that I’m working back in Manhattan, I have to be very conscience of how my money is spent.

“How much for a plain slice? $4.50? American Dollars?”

“How much for a hot dog, sir? $3!! In real life?” Yeah, Manhattan will get you.

The ironic thing is that the last time I was working in the neighborhood I was a bit younger, making a bit less and I used to meal like this everyday. Ahh, to still be under my mother’s roof.  This meal is from Bagel Maven on 30th Street and 7th Avenue on the northwest corner and I fully endorse their make-your-own-salads. $12 for a salad isn’t that much for some people (I’ll be going here once a week- max). But the meal was great: mixed greens with spinach and Mesculun; sun-dried and sliced tomatoes; feta cheese; garbanzo beans, walnuts (my true love);  chopped bacon and cajun chicken breast. With some zesty lemon vinaigrette and lemon chipotle dressing, two kinds of BBQ/hot chips (nothing beats Wise, they’re the best, the original The Orange/ Peach/ Mango Tropicana was a must, as well. Wow, when it’s laid out all like that, it sounds like it should be $15, doesn’t it.

I then went to McDonald’s for a co-worker and got her two chicken “snack wrap,” “snackers,” “snackity things” for $1.39 each…what a world apart, that child is. McDonald’s is so 1998.

That meal had me satisfied for about five hours, by the way.

  1. December 7, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    hmmmm thought you didn’t like lemon…

    • December 8, 2009 at 6:56 am

      No! I never said that, I like lemon, what were you thinking about?

  2. December 9, 2009 at 2:53 am

    yum what a meal salad for the day great

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

