Home > Foodie > Rotini And Velveeta Done Two Ways – My Thanksgiving Day Meal

Rotini And Velveeta Done Two Ways – My Thanksgiving Day Meal

November 27, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Usually I confine my chefery to the weekends, but of course, it was Thanksgiving so I had to go IN. And I love Italian and Italian-inspired dishes. I made a couple of dishes to take a friends place. I was supposed to make a mac and cheese and a lasagne or ziti dish, but those options are just too regular and expected for me. I like the lesser-used pastas, like these two. I used that velveeta and whole wheat rotini in for both of my concoctions. Most Italian food have all of the same components: pasta, a sauce and a cheese or two.

For the “mac and cheese” one, I used extra sharp yellow and white cheddar cheese, some Italian seasoning, smoke bacon crumbs on top with a little bit of shredded mozzarella also. For the “ziti-like” dish I made the most delicious spaghetti sauce in recorded history. I cut up red and green peppers, onions and garlic. There was ground beef and hot and spicy Italian pork sausages diced and added, as well. I let that simmer while I tended to other things. Cutting seven or eight blocks of cheese is Real Life… I mean, the mozzarella’s a little soft, but the cheddars are a bitch (I better get a grater before I get carpal tunnel syndrome) *Time to lay the second dish, it’s just like if it was lasagne: layers baby, layers* Everything’s in the oven or oven-bound and I have a lot of extra pasta, I see I’ll be eating this til December and I don’t mean 12/01 or 12/05 or anything…

Time to bring this entire meal together. Do you see those plates, I don’t play. I get kind of picky about which foods I like to touch each other, so I opt for a second plate, “plate 1b”. There’s an order to everything: the mash, turkey and stuffing should be next to each other so the gravy can get draped over it all at once; the collard greens with neck bones next to the spinach in garlic butter (they’re both green); the two pasta meals go together, of course. The second plate is my “exceptions” plate, all the things I don’t want to touch anything else. The SWEET potatoes were crazy good, but if it touched my mashed potatoes, I’d might have a bitchfit. No cold food ever goes on my main plate, that’s why the cranberry sauce and salad are there. By the way, the cranberry sauce is both the jellied kind out of the can and the whole cranberries in glaze, as well. The Italian bread that I made was on that plate merely because the other plate reached maximum occupancy a long way back.

In case you were wondering, yes I did finish all that food, well at least ninety-two percent of it. And you know what I did after that, went IN on dessert. SIKE! My ass was comatose by 10:15pm, tweeting and texting bedside, on my side like I was a goose being force-fed for foie gras or a veal-bound baby calf- I was S-T-U-F-F-E-D. I woke up this morning like I had a eight hour nap-that’s when I went IN on the dessert (but I’d just brushed my teeth and the toothpaste made the ice cream taste a little bit like mint chocolate chip, but it was still great).

That was a great meal…and there’s more.

  1. November 27, 2009 at 4:06 am

    Food looks good. Fat ass!! Lol

    • November 27, 2009 at 4:31 am

      Huh, I couldn’t here, I eating chips right now, all I here is crunch crunch…lol 🙂

  2. Rebecca
    November 27, 2009 at 4:25 am

    Great story about the makin of these dishes. The food looks mouth-watering!!

    • November 27, 2009 at 4:31 am

      LOL…I literally had to with my mouth when I was taking those pics..lol 🙂

  3. November 27, 2009 at 6:12 am

    Damn, I wish I recorded my thanksgiving feast. Well I’ll work on something for Christmas! Looks like a running after the holiday season is over! Run Forrest Run!

    • November 27, 2009 at 6:22 am

      LOL..I need to start running now, after that meal. I felt like a professional eater after that one. I probably won’t even eat til tonight..lol

  4. Jarrin
    November 28, 2009 at 4:48 am

    WOW Bro… I think I need to make a second trip to NY..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

