Home > Architecture, City Sites, Daily Random > Now Leaving New York

Now Leaving New York

November 19, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Ha! For a day and a half. There isn’t a city in America that I could really see myself living other than the Big Apple (with 4 notable exceptions, I’ll come to back another time.) *boom boom* I was made here, I can make it anywhere. New York, New York!!

I’ll be visiting my nation’s capitol, Obamaland. Oh wait, they didn’t change the name yet. Last time I was there, it really was Obamaland though: January 20, 2009. When I was at the Inauguration, I was just where I wanted be: on The Mall, at the Monument, with clear views to The Capitol and The Black House The White House.

Every time I visit the city I’m reminded of how that place would make (and used to be) a great plantation city. The city’s mostly flat, good for cotton crops and tobacco, moderate temperature, on the river, near the sea. Then it hits me: I’m nearly in Virginia, I’m almost down south. And then I start to itch..but I digress.

I find D.C. fascinating, not just because it’s the seat of our legislative government and I’m a CNN junkie either. I love the way the city’s laid out. Dare I say, their grid pattern and structure’s more organized than Manhattan. In our defense, DC was actually planned, we can thank Benjamin Banneker for that. The street views are amazing, the way the diagonal streets let you see clear across town and plazas, circles and squares are all over the place. All roads lead back to The Capitol. The architecture’s great too, we got our system of laws and design from the Romans.

One thing’s that’s certainly true about D.C. is that their subway, excuse me, metro is wayyy cleaner than ours. It’s like people don’t use it our something. *Lightbulb* maybe it’s because they shut down at night and get a chance to do real maintenance everyday. We don’t have that luxury, we don’t sleep out here. I rely on that 6-train ride to sober me up before I get to the Bronx at 4 am. I bet that severely hinders the club scene, or at least beefs-up the taxi industry.

Now I’m excited…pics soon to come.

  1. November 20, 2009 at 2:18 am

    have a safe trip!

  2. November 20, 2009 at 4:09 am

    really like this post. almost felt like i was walking in DC while reading it. i love DC too..so clean, and very well laid out city.

    • November 20, 2009 at 5:28 am

      Yeah DC’s so clean because they know it’s a city on display. NYC’s on display too, but we’re not representive of our nation’s government. We represent hustling and bustling, never sleeping, fashion ans the stock market..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

