Home > Soundtrack Of My Life > International Artist Of The Week – George Wassouf

International Artist Of The Week – George Wassouf

November 4, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Music really has a way of opening doors for people, it’s our universal language. As you probably can tell from some of my previous music posts, I like all types of music. So it shouldn’t surprise you that this week’s international artist hails from Syria (yet is known throughout the Arab world.) George Wassouf is big like Prince; he ruffles a couple burqas when he hits the stage. Ladies swoon, guys emulate… This is great belly-dancing music, but the way [right, Fb? Yeah I’m talking to you.] *And shoutout to my Twitter/ blogger friend, Elee  in Aleppo, Syria*

Listening to Arabic music has other fringe benefits other than just broadening my musical palette. I would always play my Mediterranean/Arab playlist loud, with the headphones outside of my ears, when I walked in my Habibi bodegas  around the way (Los Adolescentes Orquestra is I was going in to Papi’s store). The Yemini guys in my corner store used to be so hype that somewone knew and appreciated their music, they didn’t want me to pay for stuff. Politely object once, politely object again, walk out the store on three. You never know, George might help keep a couple Georges in your pocket. You’d have a lot better chance, playing arab music rather than “A-rab Money.”

“Ana Asef” I most definitely can’t find the video version of the song I have in audio, even the slower tempo version doesn’t have a video, just clips, but I like it.

<<<Last Week’s Artist<<<>>>Next Week>>>

  1. Fariyal
    November 4, 2009 at 3:45 am

    Yes his music will shake a few hips. Great artist known through out the Arab world. Another more famous arab singer is Amr Diab. If George Wassouf is prince, then Amr Diab is King! Lol.. Great post!

    • November 4, 2009 at 4:06 am

      LOL @ King. Ok, I’ll check soon. Gimme some names

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

