Home > Soundtrack Of My Life > International Artist Of The Week – M.I.A.

International Artist Of The Week – M.I.A.

October 28, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’m pretty sure that everyone’s familiar with M.I.A. now aka “Missing In Acton” aka Maya Arulpragasam. Everyone knows “Paper Planes”, the song went viral, whether it was from the Pineapple Express promos or her Grammy appearance at nine months pregnant. Where were y’all three, four years ago around the time of Arular, Bucky Done Gun Sunshowers and Galang. Even before that, the EP, Piracy Funds Terrorism. Those two albums are a lot the same, Arular is like the refined version of PFT. Part of the reason Americans were so clueless about M.I.A. Fame for so long is because Bush and his Bushiness- damn douche. The previous administration refused to grant her a Visa to enter the country saying that her father, Arul Pragasam, was on the Terrorist Watchlist for associating with Sri Lanka’s Tamil Tigers decades before. Lame, I know. M.I.A.’s second studio album, Kala, was supposed to be predominantly produced by Timbaland, unfortunately they were only able to collaborate on one song.

This is definitely not the last M.I.A. post, it’s so serious, I’m not even a fan anymore, I’m a “devotee,” the title should read “International Artist Of The Millennium.” Now the M.I.A. lives in Bk, I consider her a New Yorker as well, that’s where the Paper Planes video was shot.

<<<Last Week’s Artist<<<>>>Next Week>>>

  1. Fariyal
    October 28, 2009 at 5:58 am

    L.O.V.E!!!! This chic is so talented and different! Way better than the wack hip hop artists who come up with the same shit day to day. She’s brought a new flavor to music and definitely will bring more..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

