NYC.me

October 22, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I always considered The Bronx and Manhattan to be sister boroughs. They have so much in common: Manhattan and The Bronx are on the same street grid, that’s why the first street in the Bx is 132nd St instead of 1st Street, or something like that; East and West are divided in the same way (5th Avenue in Manh. and Jerome Ave in The Bx) most of The Bronx is East, just the slither that’s nearest to Manhattan have West addresses. I can even remember when The Bronx and Manhattan both had the 212 area code, before The Bx got pushed aside to 718 to make room for more Manhattan phone numbers. This is before 917, way before 646 and 347. I’m don’t even think beepers were even out yet.
Manhattan and The Bronx are my top 2 boroughs. Obviously Manny Hanny’s number one, then Bx, then Bk (if not for The Wu-Tang and airports, I wouldn’t even know or care about the next two), Queens is fourth and Staten Island comes in at number eleventeen.. Talk about a redheaded step-child, SI gets no love, it’s New Jersey’s bastard kid that we decided to claim on our taxes.

  1. October 23, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    I can even remember when The Bronx and Manhattan both had the 212 area code, –> I can also I rememeber having a Uncle & a Aunt got divorced move to both of those places and I was a confused child when dailing them up. LOL!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

