Home > Brooklyn, Foodie > Foodie.10/21/09. Mr. Falafel’s

Foodie.10/21/09. Mr. Falafel’s

October 22, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

foodMFAs much as I love my own cooking, it’s about time for me to mix it up and I’m willing to spend some green today. Well, I have no choice being that I didn’t bring lunch from home. So what’s in my vicinity?: Chinese food; McDonald’s: Deli/Diner. No, no, no: save the “Cream of SumYungGuy” , Ray Croc’s unfood and overpriced watery nothingness for a more desperate day. I want something good, meaningful, with flavor…something that won’t break the bank or take forever to make.
The little “foodie lightbulb” just went of in my head. I’m going to Mr. Falafel on 7th Ave (between 3rd and 4th Sts.) I haven’t had authentic Egyptian/Mediterranean food in months and this is the only place in Brooklyn I would go for it. I passed two other Middle Eastern/ Mediterranean Restaurants on my way here, but they just don’t cut. I have my loyalties. Mr. Falafel was the ‘cuisine du jour’, everyday, for me until I honed in own chefery. I probably tried their whole menu, so now I can just walk in there and know what I want. In the great debate between a chicken gyro and their Egyptian burger, the lamb patty took home the gold this time. Egyptian Burger in a pita, feta cheese, chick peas, tebouleh, lettece tomatoes, hots sauce, tsatsiki… Can you smell it? Since I’ve been gone so long, I had to make up for old time’s sake, “let me get a small hummus, some falafels and extra pitas too, please.” I’m going IN today. Yeah that sounds like a lot, but the good thing about Mediterranean food is that you can eat hearty without feeling all heavy and weighed down. Further proof the American food is predominantly designed to keep subsidized farmers and health insurers in business. Mr. Falafel has the kind of food that leaves you feeling all invigorated and refreshed after you eat. If I would have had Chinese food, I probably would’ve been in a coma by now, or worse… I definitely made the right choice. I might make this a weekly thing. They’re the only place around my way that has food worthy enough for me to pay for-rivaled only to my own knife and fork skills.heart

  1. October 23, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    Wow see now I want some dang it!! Looks great, sounds great, if your going back it has to taste great. Can we get them a chain down here in the DMV?

    • October 23, 2009 at 5:59 pm

      LOL…Mr. Falafel’s nothte kind of place that would franchise all the way down to DC, but I’m 100% sure you can find some good Mediterranean eats down there.. We’ll do lunch when I’m there in Nov.

  2. Milanyavandis
    October 25, 2009 at 12:11 am

    wow…leave it to the core to weed out one of these side street health hazzards lol im sure the food is good tho…

  3. Kelly
    October 26, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    This food looks good.. I need to try a few mediterranean places out here, however, that’s going to be tough here in San Diego…

  4. Fariyal
    October 26, 2009 at 9:16 am

    I’ve been there so many times and its AWESOME!

    • October 26, 2009 at 3:06 pm

      WOW! You’re been to Mr. Falafel…? We probably were there at the same time before..lol

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

