MTA.10/15/09

October 15, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

subwayI always wonder what would happen if the train conductor accidentally released the wrong set of doors when he was at a station stop. When trains roll up to the station, the people opposite the platform don’t really adjust their movements. I once fell out of a train because I was leaning on the platformside door. The conductor opened the door to close it right back, I fell out then got hemmed by the closing doors. I’m really glad I can laugh at myself, because the train was full and I had like 17 stops to go. If a MTA employee were to make that mistake, everybody leaning on the doors opposite the platform would be screwed. A mistake of that sort can’t be as easy as I think it is, otherwise it would happen a lot more often..
Here’s to putting my faith in the guy who quits everytime he doesn’t get his outrageous pay raise.

  1. October 15, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    Dang just thought of that with our Metro subways down here in the DMV LOL! Half the dang folks would be fried rice cause it’s on the side where the active rail is.

    • October 15, 2009 at 12:56 pm

      LOL @ Fried rice.. yeah, its a safety precaution to put the “live” rail farthest from the platform, so that, just in case someone falls in, they won’t get shocked (or turn into a side dish to chicken and broccoli..lmao)

  2. Rebecca
    October 15, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    I am always afraid of that happening to me

    • October 15, 2009 at 3:09 pm

      I think every body is…now that i ‘said’ that out loud, I’m always gonna think about that when I’m leaning on the doors..LOL *hope,faith&trust* shoot!

  3. October 15, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    (giggle) @side dish to chicken and broccoli

  4. Fariyal
    October 15, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    lol! i always wonder that too. it would be so scary if a stupid conductor did that, by mistake.

    • October 15, 2009 at 3:19 pm

      I know, but it just can’t be that easy to make such a critical error. Imagine if some idiot conduct, finishing up his graveyard shift during the AM rush hour, did that. The AM New York paper would read: Clumsy Conductor Kills Commuters.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

